Motion – Time Frozen and Blurred

Inspired, But Mostly Just Hungry.

I got home from a late class and knew I had to start taking photos right away for COMM 300 because there was an assignment due that night. Well, I was hungry, and I was feeling like mac n’ cheese. This was perfect because I needed to capture examples of frozen and blurred motion by changing the camera’s shutter speed. I grabbed my camera and started cooking. Then I made some fire, because I really like fire. I also wanted to try something new. For my last shot, I adjusted the focus during the exposure to create a dreamy effect.

Frozen Motion —

Noodles falling into pot
Noodle Time – May 7, 2019 / 5:50 PM – Rexburg, ID – 55mm, f1.7, 1/4000 – Sony A6000, Minolta MC Rokkor-PF, Tripod, noods.

 

Fire 1
Fire Burst 1 – May 7, 2019 / 7:06 PM – Rexburg, ID – 55mm, f1.7, 1/1000 – Sony A6000, Minolta MC Rokkor-PF, Tripod, Alcohol.

 

Fire on the kitchen table
Fire Burst 2 – May 7, 2019 / 7:06 PM – Rexburg, ID – 55mm, f1.7, 1/1000 – Sony A6000, Minolta MC Rokkor-PF, Tripod, Alcohol.

 

Even more fire
Fire Burst 3 – May 7, 2019 / 7:06 PM – Rexburg, ID – 55mm, f1.7, 1/1000 – Sony A6000, Minolta MC Rokkor-PF, Tripod, Alcohol.

 

Blurred Motion —

Blurry noodles being stirred in pot
Noodle Stirs – May 7, 2019 / 5:47 PM – Rexburg, ID – 55mm, f11, 1.3s – Sony A6000, Minolta MC Rokkor-PF, Tripod.

 

Lego star wars characters
Saber Fight – May 7, 2019 / 7:57 PM – Rexburg, ID – 55mm, f11, 5s – Sony A6000, Minolta MC Rokkor-PF, Tripod.

It was lots of fun taking these photos. When I was a kid I thought photos of fire like that were so cool. It’s awesome to be able to make the images myself now.

4 thoughts on “Motion – Time Frozen and Blurred

  1. Bro.. those fire shots.. are fire.. heh. But seriously those are amazing. What was your process to get that to happen? Awesome work. Its amazing what these cameras can do when you know how to use them and the many functions that meant nothing to us (or just me) 2 weeks ago.

    Like

  2. Great work, Wilson! I like that you took advantage of the motion in a basic activity that you were going to do anyway. The fire shots are impressive and intense. And of course, your minifig shot is great.

    I spent a lot of time outside trying to find some motion to photograph. I didn’t even think about photographing something simple inside! I guess sometimes it’s good to think “inside” the box.

    Here’s my post if you’d like to take a look – https://russonreflectionblog.wordpress.com/2019/05/08/motion-freeze-blur/. I also thought Wandile did a great job with her post and images – https://wandilesibisi.wordpress.com/2019/05/07/light-motion-freeze-blurr/

    Like

  3. Oh my goodness.. I love these so much, especially the Saber Fight. That one was so creative and funny. I also really enjoyed all of your fire burst images. My favorite one of that series is probably the third one. I think the fire engulfing the lighter is so cool, and mystifying. You did an awesome job!

    Check out my post: https://haleyprestwich.home.blog/2019/05/07/haley-prestwich-motion/
    Also Check out Lawry’s stuff: https://denyervisuals.wordpress.com/category/comm-300-blog-posts/

    Like

Leave a comment